Hoping for history at the 2011 Indy 500

UPDATE – What a finish! Dan Wheldon wins his second when the leader, JR Hildebrand wrecks on the final turn. Danica led the race for the second time. On both occasions, Dan Wheldon became the eventual winner. Congratulations to Dan Wheldon. 

In its centennial year, the Indianapolis 500 contains a very competitive field of 33 drivers. It is my hope that this is the year when a woman driver or owner celebrates in victory lane. I have been hoping for this important breakthrough for many years. Several times Danica Patrick has come very close to achieving this milestone.

In 2011, there are four excellent lady drivers in the field (Simona De Silvestro, Danica Patrick, Pippa Mann, and Ana Beatriz) and one woman car owner (Sarah Fisher). While my personal choice to win as a driver is Simona De Silvestro, I think the best opportunity comes from Sarah Fisher’s team. Though she is not driving, she is the owner of the car being driven by Ed Carpenter, which starts the race in 8th position.

No matter what happens today, Let’s all pray for a safe and exciting race. This month of May has already had its share of scares at the track, including for Simona De Silvestro. Wouldn’t it be spectacular to watch history take place too. I know I cannot wait for the day that a woman wins at Indy.

Here are the five great ladies of the 2011 Indianapolis 500.

Simona De Silvestro

Danica Patrick

Pippa Mann

Ana Beatriz

Sarah Fisher

This entry was posted in Auto racing, diversity, feminism, sports, Women and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.