Wolf Alice kills it with their debut release

Wolf Alice - Source: beingblogged.se

Wolf Alice – Source: beingblogged.se

Every now and then a new band comes along that alters the course of modern music while also raising the threshold for all future bands to try to attain. Examples from the past include The Beatles, U2, Radiohead, and Nirvana. Well, there’s a new foursome on the block that is doing its darndest to prove that awesome rock ‘n roll will never die. That band is Wolf Alice and their debut album is My Love is Cool.

Hailing from the north end of London, Wolf Alice literally scorches the airwaves and your headphones with vibrant, pulsating music that will please both headbangers and lyricists alike. Throw in a few ballads and experimental tracks and you have the recipe for a great debut album and a serious contender for Best New Artist and the next Grammy Awards.  Probably the best description of their musical style came from Clash Magazine which described it in 2013 as, “the lovechild of folk and grunge,” but don’t be surprised if your hear snippets of other music genre, as well.

In all, there are 14 tracks on the CD, including a hidden one that starts approximately 90 seconds after “The Wonderwhy” concludes. My personal favorite tracks after three listens are (not necessarily in order):

  • “Lisbon”
  • “Bros”
  • “Your Loves Whore”
  • “Swallowtail”
  • “Giant Peach”
  • “Silk”
  • “Freazy”
  • “You’re a Germ”
  • “Fluffy”
  • “The Wonderwhy”
  • “Moaning Lisa Smile”

You will hear hints of Nirvana, shades of Metric, bits of Smashing Pumpkins, and subtle nods to other musicians on this album, but in the end it is all Wolf Alice creating their own legacy and leaving a sizeable first footprint on rock history. Go buy this album and let your ears rejoice!

This entry was posted in art, Communications, entertainment, Europe, fun, music, music reviews, Radio, UK, video, Women and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.